I need to convert different timezone to my local time and date?
Using date command you can convert to different date and time zones to your local time zone defined by:
$ ls -l /etc/localtime
lrwxrwxrwx. 1 root root 38 Jun 11 13:08 /etc/localtime -> ../usr/share/zoneinfo/Australia/Sydney
In the below example we will convert UTC time to EST:
$ date -d '2014-06-26 23:00 UTC'
Fri Jun 27 09:00:00 EST 2014

Following the above timezone conversion example to convert from CEST (Central European Summer Time ) we do:
$ date -d '2014-06-26 23:00 CEST'
Fri Jun 27 07:00:00 EST 2014

Free Linux eBooks

Do you have the right skills?

Our IT Skills Watch page reflects an up to date IT skills demand leaning towards the Linux and Unix environment. We have considered a number of skills and operating systems.

See the result...

Linux Online Training

Learn to run Linux servers and prepare for LPI certification with Linux Academy. 104 available video lessons with PDF course notes with your own server!

Go to top